Modeshift STARS School of the Year announced at the Houses of Parliament

The 2017 National Modeshift STARS School Travel Awards took place at the Houses of Parliament on Thursday 6th April. Ladycross Infant School from Derbyshire and The Grammar School at Leeds received The National Modeshift STARS School of the Year titles which was announced by Andrew Jones MP, Parliamentary-under-Secretary of State for Transport. Modeshift STARS is the national schools awards scheme that has been established to recognise schools that have demonstrated excellence in supporting cycling, walking and other forms of sustainable school travel.

Andrew Jones MP says “It is inspiring to learn about the creative and innovative ways schools are promoting sustainable travel. The STARS scheme ensures that young people and their families are more active and helps to reduce congestion on our roads, particularly at peak times. “This government is absolutely committed to improving how people travel and ensuring that people’s journeys are cheaper, safer and better for the environment.”

Ladycross Infant school won National STARS Primary School of the year for their commitment to best practice in sustainable school travel. Working closely with Derbyshire County Council’s Travel Smart Programme the school have shown an 11% decrease in car use in 3 years, with only 16% of journeys to school being made by car. Mr Hancock, Class teacher says “To be presented with this award is a real honour, this highlights the commitment from all of the pupils, staff, local authority and wider community. Taking part in Modeshift STARS has really helped our school embed a culture of sustainable travel within our curriculum and this award just shows that.”

The Grammar School at Leeds won the National STARS Secondary School of the year Secondary reducing car use by 9%, they have done this by using an innovative approach in creating GSAL Transport Limited providing an in-house bus service for students to use for school travel within a 30mile radius.

The competition was hard fought between the six current STARS Schools of the Region, these were:

North East - St Augustine’s RC VA Primary, Darlington

Yorkshire & The Humber – Boothferry Primary School, East Riding of Yorkshire

Midlands – Ladycross Infant School, Derbyshire

South West – Abbey Meads Primary School, Swindon

East of England – The Meads Primary School, Luton

South East – Wendover CE Junior School, Buckinghamshire

Yorkshire & The Humber – The Grammar School at Leeds, Leeds

*National = England (excluding London). In future years it is hoped that the London region will also be eligible for the National STARS Awards.



Click here if you have forgotten your password

This website uses cookies
(click to read more)

We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best user experience possible.

Cookies are small text files which are stored by your browser and can tell us which pages of our website you have visited. They do not store any personal information about you.